NHS Recognition Awards - Winners Announced

Fri, 21 Nov 2014

NHS Leaders from across the East Midlands came together last night at Leicester’s King Power Stadium to celebrate the winners of this year’s NHS Recognition Awards.

East Midlands winners, will now be considered by a panel of national judges and will be up against peers from across the country all hoping to be crowned national winner of their categories at the London ceremony in March 2015.
And the winners were:

NHS Board / Governing Body of the Year
Nottinghamshire Local Education and Training Council (LETC)

NHS Innovator of the Year
Rakesh Patel, University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust

NHS Award for Outstanding Collaborative Leadership
Rachel Munton, East Midlands Academic Health Science Network

NHS Development Champion of the Year
Dan Boden, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

NHS Inspirational Leader of the Year
Anne-Marie Olphert, Erewash CCG

NHS Mentor / Coach of the Year
Adrian Piggott, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

NHS Emerging Leader of the Year
Cat Harrison,Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust 

NHS Leader of Inclusivity of the Year
Sophie Ford, Lincolnshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

NHS Patient Champion of the Year
Paul Brooks, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

 Paul O’Neill, Director of the East Midlands Leadership Academy which hosted the awards said, "A fantastic night was had by all and I congratulate all of our winners. Reading the nominations for everyone on the shortlist shows what wonderful work is being done by NHS staff around our region and I think the judges had a very difficult job. I’ll look forward to supporting everyone at the national ceremony next year."
Chair of the East Midlands Leadership Academy, Gavin Boyle said, "The atmosphere on the evening was great and was a fitting tribute to our NHS staff who all work so hard. The environment in which we work is often challenging so it gives me great pleasure to celebrate the fantastic work that’s being undertaken day in, day out."

Almost 150 nominations were received in total from a spread of organisations which included those in both primary and secondary care as well as those from other parts of the health and social care sector.